Zeal Q500 frame.

Discussion in 'Modifications' started by armyrcer, Jun 3, 2016.

  1. William Ball

    William Ball Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    66
    Location:
    Western NY (chautauqua lake)
    Very Very Nice! looks great
     
    armyrcer likes this.
  2. armyrcer

    armyrcer Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    17
    I have to say i love the way this thing flies. I still have the led saying compass calibration needed but myself or frank from CD cant find anything wrong. It flies rock solid with good range. I replaced the compass module and still get led saying compass calibration needed.
     
  3. Jagerbomb52

    Jagerbomb52 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Messages:
    4,416
    Likes Received:
    1,576
    Location:
    Kakabeka Falls Ontario Canada
    On my resent build I also get compass calibration needed. Like you said it seems too fly just fine.
    I do have a question, how do you use those darn rubber O-rings to hold the battery in. :)
     
  4. armyrcer

    armyrcer Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    17
    They just wrap around the little post. If they are up next to the battery then you have it mounted wrong. I did this on my first build. I will try and find a picture
     
  5. Jagerbomb52

    Jagerbomb52 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Messages:
    4,416
    Likes Received:
    1,576
    Location:
    Kakabeka Falls Ontario Canada
    Now that you mentioned it and I looked closer yes they are reversed. :)
    I just took the tabs and bent them out and its all good now.

    You ever have the occasional lose of control for no reason?
    I flew two batteries this morning and on the second battery it just wanted to do its own thing. Ended up having to kill the motors in mid flight or it would have ended up in a swamp. Landed in a small 20 foot spruce tree and I managed to shake it down and catch it :)
    No damage except for one lost rubber gimbal damper.
     
  6. Rnlcomp

    Rnlcomp Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    123
    Location:
    New Orleans
    So that's what I did wrong, LOL I just figured the bands were there incase the batt slot was loose, mine was tight so I never gave it another thought.

    Bent the tabs outward with batt inserted to correct it, no need to take it all apart, aluminum is quite pliable.
     
    armyrcer likes this.
  7. armyrcer

    armyrcer Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    17
    Jager i think alot of the uncontrolled flight is just yuneec and their flight boards.
     
  8. Rnlcomp

    Rnlcomp Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    123
    Location:
    New Orleans
    Make sure the active antenna end is not touching the carbon fiber or aluminum parts, the last 1" or so.
    [​IMG]
    .
     
  9. Jagerbomb52

    Jagerbomb52 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Messages:
    4,416
    Likes Received:
    1,576
    Location:
    Kakabeka Falls Ontario Canada
    Well I have one antenna running down a leg on the landing gear. It does not even come close to touching anything metal or carbon. I have the other running horizontal out to the back and it is positioned to not touch anything also. That is the only change up from stock as the horizontal antenna ran to the front. I can't see that being a issue. I have the GPS mounted on top of the top plate sitting on the plastic spacers. I have a copper shield underneath the top shield and I had a extra one that i had so I made 4 pin holes for the GPS spacers to fit through and it sits on top of the top plate. Every change I make seems to make it more stable but I'm still shaking every time I take it up :)
    I ran three batteries through it after a near fly a way today and nothing happened??? WTF Its hit or miss. I want this for my kid but the way it just acts up for no reason he is not getting it till I fix the problem.
     
  10. Rnlcomp

    Rnlcomp Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    123
    Location:
    New Orleans
    Hmmm,... the only time I ever experienced a lack of control was when I went from indoors to out without letting the bird acclimate, was extremely hot and humid that day and of course the exact opposite inside.

    Curious to find out what it might be, also I don't get the led signaling compass calibration needed.
     
  11. Jagerbomb52

    Jagerbomb52 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Messages:
    4,416
    Likes Received:
    1,576
    Location:
    Kakabeka Falls Ontario Canada
    Ya its funny about the compass calibration issue as armyrcer also said he had the same problem and when I had posted my finish build on Facebook several people asked me if I was getting the errors coming up as they had that very same problem. I was thinking the compass being close to the carbon plate it might need some shielding also.
     
    roymunt likes this.
  12. Jagerbomb52

    Jagerbomb52 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Messages:
    4,416
    Likes Received:
    1,576
    Location:
    Kakabeka Falls Ontario Canada
    Up early and outside doing compass calibrations, tried to be as exact as possible. Each time the quad indicated a successful calibration. Even had my boy scout compass out there making sure I was pointing true magnetic north :)

    Took one battery out to the local baseball park and flew it down to 10.6 volts. Not one problem. Very steady and responsive. Came home and got the telemetry file and ran it through Exmaps.com. To my surprise I still had tons of compass calibration errors??? This has me baffled.
     

    Attached Files:

    armyrcer likes this.
  13. armyrcer

    armyrcer Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    17
    Jager im telling you man its yuneec and their crappy boards. Are you flying the nfz firmware with it as well
     
    Jagerbomb52 likes this.
  14. Jagerbomb52

    Jagerbomb52 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Messages:
    4,416
    Likes Received:
    1,576
    Location:
    Kakabeka Falls Ontario Canada
    No that was standard firmware V1.07
    I do have the NFZ firmware, do you think it would help?
     
  15. armyrcer

    armyrcer Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    17
    No it does the same thing. I can use the nfz firmware and get compass errors but fly fine. I take the nfz firmware off and i get a normal flight no compass errors.
     
    roymunt likes this.
  16. Rnlcomp

    Rnlcomp Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    123
    Location:
    New Orleans
    Very odd, I'm using the nfz firmware and it flies fine no errors.
     
  17. Jagerbomb52

    Jagerbomb52 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Messages:
    4,416
    Likes Received:
    1,576
    Location:
    Kakabeka Falls Ontario Canada
    Whats your ST10+ firmware at?
     
  18. Rnlcomp

    Rnlcomp Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    123
    Location:
    New Orleans
    b29c.
     
    armyrcer likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page

Loading...