Breeze Altitude Limit

Discussion in 'Breeze' started by JosephG0804, Nov 21, 2016.

1. Jos

JosephG0804 New Member

All,

i am new to the drone scene. I was flying my new Breeze and I was not able to go up the 262ft/80m. I get the GEO fence alert However, the closest airport or "no fly zone" near me is more than 6.5 miles/10Km away.

is there a way to remove the GEO fence or what do i need to do in order to be able to fly my drone at the altitude that i want.

Thanks in advance.

2. Bob Randall

Bob Randall New Member

Congrats on your Breeze and welcome!

First, you didn't mention at what elevation you got the geo fence warning. If your not sure, then next time you fly, let us know at what elevation this happened at.

Next, if you are in the US, then removing the geo fence restrictions is against FAA regulations. I understand your concern of getting it to the elevation you would like, but the geo fence requirements for all GPS drones are here to stay with the FAA... specially after 2 drones almost took down 2 airliners over the past 30 days.

Lastly, the breeze controller is your mobile device. There is a limit to the wifi strength of mobile devices. Things can interfere with wifi and limit it's distance, specially other wifi signals. At my home I can't get my Breeze past about 90 feet straight up over me before I loose contact with it, but when I look at all the different wifi connections available on my phone, there are about 20 other wifi routers, etc. broadcasting at the same time that can cause interference. If I'm out in the desert, then I can get much higher, but start getting breakup at about 140 feet. I could not imagine flying my Breeze over about 140 feet unless I had some sort of wifi booster on my mobile device. It is designed as a selfie drone. I know it has a max. height of 80m (262ft), but that is the max and as I mentioned, there can be factors that can limit the wifi signal strength.