Q500 4K Noob question - Calibrate before every use? Why?

Discussion in 'Q500/Q500+/Q500 4K/Typhoon G' started by DR0N3R, Sep 28, 2017.

1. DR0N3R

DR0N3R New Member

Sep 26, 2017
    I am three flights in on a Q500 4K, calibrated before each use but before I start experimenting without calibration, I wanted to hear from experienced users. Also I have never calibrated the Accelerometer only Compass. Any notice in performance?

2. beachcomber

beachcomber Member

Jan 7, 2017
    Male
    I'm no expert (a few dozen flights) but will throw out my 2 cents. It's important to calibrate your compas once before your first ever flight. But not necessary to re-calibrate each flying session. As for accelerometer, I calibrated mine using the computer GUI only once. Not sure it was necessary. Haven't recalibrated since. Just fly and have fun. Maybe someone else can chime in and tell what are the symptoms of Q needing calib (maybe unstable hover or something?).

3. skwty

skwty Active Member

Apr 20, 2016
    Male
    Wisconsin
    I only calibrate my Typhoon H when I have taken it a significant distance from the last calibration. So, in the 6 months and 50 or so flights, I have calibrated it 3 times. I have heard of pilots calibrating it right out of the box and that is it. To each his own. I am sure you will be fine. Just keep your eyes and ears open :)

4. DR0N3R

DR0N3R New Member

Sep 26, 2017
    #4 DR0N3R, Sep 28, 2017
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2017
    Thank you for your replies. I am going to monitor the drone's steadiness\stability and compare it with other Drones before any more calibration. More research and comparison to be done such as motors and props. I bought aftermarket props thinking that the product couldn't be that much different but reading some post I see mixed results.

5. beachcomber

beachcomber Member

Jan 7, 2017
    Male