C-GO3 Set image sharpness by command

Discussion in 'Camera's (C-GO2/C-GO3/C-GO4)' started by Methodus, Feb 2, 2016.

  1. Methodus

    Methodus Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    31
    Hi guys,

    I want to dedicate my second post to the finding I had this weekend. If you ever wondered why the DNG images are not as sharp as the JPG images, this is probably because the camera software sharpens the images after recording. However, some told me that this is to much or to less. So, if you want to adjust this, do the following steps:

    1. connect to the camera with your smartphone or computer
    2. call the following URL: http://192.168.42.1/cgi-bin/cgi?CMD=SET_SHARPNESS&value=[0..10] and choose a value between 0 (very soft) and 10 (very sharp)
    3. check the value with this URL: http://192.168.42.1/cgi-bin/cgi?CMD=GET_SHARPNESS

    The sharpness is not reset by the radio, so you just have to set it once or whenever you want to change the value. Unfortunately, this is currently the only way to set the sharpness yet, but I already added this feature to my library, of course. :)

    I have two images which are taken with value 0 and 10.


    This is a re-post from the german forum, where I am also active. But I think, this is worth to share with the rest of the world. :)
     
    Tags:
    krakozavr, Colin and ^pomen_GTR^ like this.
  2. ^pomen_GTR^

    ^pomen_GTR^ Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2015
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    Malaysia
    awesome!

    btw..what was the default value?
     
  3. Steve W

    Steve W New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine was set at (1) so changed to (8). Many thanks
     
  4. Wingshooter

    Wingshooter Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2015
    Messages:
    625
    Likes Received:
    208
    Location:
    East Tennessee, USA
    Mine was set at 6.......
     
  5. mikeinaz

    mikeinaz Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    95
    Location:
    bullhead city arizona
    I tried to connect to url and couldnt
     
  6. Wingshooter

    Wingshooter Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2015
    Messages:
    625
    Likes Received:
    208
    Location:
    East Tennessee, USA
    I had no problem. I just emailed myself the links to my iPhone. Connected to CGO3 WiFi using my phone exactly like I would if going to use the Steady Grip. Opened email and clicked on the link. It worked.
     
  7. MadMattz

    MadMattz Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    Upstate NY USA
    Question, how do you edit the value to have the camera save it? Both links show me I believe a value of zero, but it doesn't let me do anything to change it.
     
  8. David Pinotchard

    David Pinotchard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2015
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Sonoma County, California
  9. MadMattz

    MadMattz Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    Upstate NY USA
  10. David Pinotchard

    David Pinotchard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2015
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Sonoma County, California
    David, I could not get this to work either until I removed the brackets. Here is what I put in the URL bar and hit enter. When I checked it via the second link it now said 8 not 0.

    http://192.168.42.1/cgi-bin/cgi?CMD=SET_SHARPNESS&value=8
    MM
    Thank you!! I'll give that a try.
    I live in Northern California. 20 years ago I lived on Seneca Lake. Pretty area. Winters a bit much.
    David
     
    Gary Hulon likes this.
  11. David Pinotchard

    David Pinotchard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2015
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Sonoma County, California
    MM
    Thanks!! I'll give that a try.
    David
     
    MadMattz likes this.
  12. Jagerbomb52

    Jagerbomb52 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Messages:
    4,957
    Likes Received:
    1,806
    Location:
    Canada
    I can't get this to work. I really wonder why I would need this as in post I adjust it to where I want.
     
  13. MadMattz

    MadMattz Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    Upstate NY USA

    Yes winters are TERRIBLE (except for this year). I'm just south of Watkins.
     
  14. David Munksgard

    David Munksgard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Sonoma County, Ca
    MM
    Worked perfectly!! Thanks so much.
    David
     
    MadMattz likes this.
  15. nomad33fw

    nomad33fw Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2016
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    56
    Anyone have any comparison shots?
     
  16. Roe

    Roelof Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2015
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    2
    David, I have no iPhone but i wantto connect the camera to my computer with a cable, but I get nothing.
    Do you know what i am doing wrong?
     
  17. Methodus

    Methodus Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    31
    You can't connect the camera to your computer via cable. You need a 5Ghz wifi capable device to connect to the camera wifi. If you are able to use the CGO3-Android or iOS app, you should have access to the camera commands with the specified links.
     
  18. Tim Lewis

    Tim Lewis New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Central Alabama
    I've done this with the iPhone, and nothing happens to anything anywhere. What do you mean by, ''call" the URL?
     
  19. Methodus

    Methodus Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    31
    When you are successfully connected to the camera, your phone gets an IP in the range of 192.169.42.2 to 192.168.42.254. Check that first, otherwise you can't reach the cam. Next, open a browser, i.e. safari, and type that URL from the first post. When this is successful, you'll get a short JSON response. Hope this helps.
     
  20. Robert Gunter

    Robert Gunter Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2015
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    21
    I have tried every combination to adjust the sharpness and all I can get is this: {"rival":0, "msg_id":"337"}
    I cannot adjust sharpness, but can view the other one to see that the value is 0. I am using an iPhone 6 and the CGO3 app on my steady grip. I eliminated the brackets and used this one as well as others, but with the same results: http://192.168.42.1/cgi-bin/cgi?CMD=SET_SHARPNESS&value=8
    Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I really want to change my sharpness.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

Loading...