TUTORIAL: ST-10+ SD Card - How & Why

Discussion in 'ST10(+) Controller' started by Nettle Creek UAV, Nov 28, 2015.

  1. Nettle Creek UAV

    Nettle Creek UAV Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    251
    Location:
    Grundy County, Illinois, USA
    Here is a video I put together on how to add an SD card to your
    controller and why you should do it. Please post any comments
    or questions below. Thanks!!! :)

     
    Tags:
    Swissair, WJBushSr, PF1 and 9 others like this.
  2. whe

    wherry Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2015
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Arkansas
    I just watched your video. Thanks. I didn't know the ST10+ and PC could connect directly. I tried once just for grins and got an error message and just assumed it couldn't be done. Later on, when I discover there was a place for an SD card in the ST10+ but there was nothing there to read, because there was no card. I understand a bit more now. After that, I tried the infamous update of death and haven't flown since. Kind of interested to see all of that information.

    You have to admit, they have gone to a lot of trouble to record all of that.
     
  3. Nettle Creek UAV

    Nettle Creek UAV Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    251
    Location:
    Grundy County, Illinois, USA
    You're welcome!!! :)

    It helps them a lot when trying to diagnose problems and it's also a lot of fun to
    use with software like "Dashware", which overlays instrumentation over your
    video. The best thing is that the software is FREE.

    http://www.dashware.net

    Here's an example of what you can do with the data. (Not my video)
     
    Mike_Flys and Webrat like this.
  4. Robert Gunter

    Robert Gunter Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2015
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    21
    Great video. Do you know when this will be available for Mac users? Thanks
     
  5. Nettle Creek UAV

    Nettle Creek UAV Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    251
    Location:
    Grundy County, Illinois, USA
    You should be able to access the files with a Mac.
    There's no software involved.
     
  6. Robert Gunter

    Robert Gunter Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2015
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    21
    I see nothing when I connect the USB to my Mac. I feel certain sd card is inserted properly and I make sure I wait until ST10+ is completely on and functioning. I have no data on the card, so that may be an issue, but I thought I would see something to indicate the ST10+ was working with my Mac. Suggestions much appreciated.
     
  7. Arbutus

    Arbutus Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    Mayne Island, BC. Canada
    A Mac does not see the Android as a mounted file system. You need an app to transfer files. I posted elsewhere on this forum the details. Google 'Mac Android File Transfer' and take it from there.
     
  8. Nettle Creek UAV

    Nettle Creek UAV Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    251
    Location:
    Grundy County, Illinois, USA
    Thanks, @Arbutus. I wish I knew more about Macs. I assumed it would just
    read it like a card reader the same way Windows does.
     
  9. Robert Gunter

    Robert Gunter Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2015
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    21
    Thanks! I downloaded the free Android app and it recognized my ST10+. Dashware is for PCs only, so I will have to find similar software for a Mac. Thanks again.
     
  10. Arbutus

    Arbutus Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    Mayne Island, BC. Canada
    ROHAI likes this.
  11. Ric

    Richard Wilabee Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2015
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Palm Springs Area in California
    Have you tried these on the data files that are written to the SD Card. Just checking to see if they are compatible. If they work any tricks we need to know when importing the files.

    Thanks
     
  12. Arbutus

    Arbutus Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    Mayne Island, BC. Canada
    Yes both ExMaps and GPS Visualiser work with the files on the ST10 card. The file to upload is in the telemetry folder - these are named Telemetry_0000x.csv for example.

    In ExMaps create an account, create an aircraft in your hangar, then add the telemetry file to generate a flight log. If you use Chrome or Firefox, the resulting flight path is shown in 3D. On Safari it is a 2D path. https://exmaps.com/uploads/30147?show2D=true for example. It can take a few minutes to process if the server is busy.

    If you use GPS Visualizer, it processes the .csv file for you and returns a .kmz formatted file that is used by Google Earth/Maps to draw the flight path. With Google Earth installed, double click the .kmz to launch the app and see where you were flying.

    There is also FlyTrex, which is a logger that uses a cellular connection to display a live flight independently of the Yuneec/ST10. i.e. other people can see where you are flying in real time (maybe not wanted, but that can be turned off!) but the real advantage is that the data is preserved in the event of a system failure, and gives a fighting chance of recovering the bird.
     
    ROHAI, Nettle Creek UAV and SparkoRC like this.
  13. SparkoRC

    SparkoRC Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    132
    Location:
    Surrey. United Kingdom
    Arbutus@ Well explained to those that wish to view their telemetry files.
     
  14. Ric

    Richard Wilabee Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2015
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Palm Springs Area in California
    Thanks I'll give it a try. Sounds pretty neat.
     
  15. rap

    rapterman#1 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2015
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    6
    can i use a 32 mb card? tried but usb driver would not load
     
  16. Arbutus

    Arbutus Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    Mayne Island, BC. Canada
    No idea really. My St10+ uses a class 10 16Mb card formatted FAT32. It reads on my MAC correctly.

    Other than seating the transmitter SD card correctly in the silly clip thing, there should not be a problem. Perhaps check that the card is formatted (full format, not quick format) and that the PC/MAC can use it normally.
     
  17. rap

    rapterman#1 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2015
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    6
    ok thanks ill try to format it
     
  18. rap

    rapterman#1 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2015
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    6
    yep format quick format in no good. but the long way it works great thanks a bunch.
     
  19. Chief

    Chief Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2015
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    4
    Screen Shot 2016-01-09 at 2.44.03 PM.png
     
  20. droner

    droner Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    80
    Location:
    McConnell, IL
    I had to full format my SanDisk 32GB in Windows for it to work. Apple does FAT or ExFAT. There must be some differences.

    Happy Flying!
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2016
Loading...

Share This Page

Loading...