TUTORIAL: ST-10+ SD Card - How & Why

Discussion in 'ST10(+) Controller' started by Nettle Creek UAV, Nov 28, 2015.

  1. gil

    gillruidant New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all - thanks for the interesting information!
    Is the video supposed to be saved on the sd card with a typhoon G (with go pro) as well? I see the folder but it is empty. Do I need to activate something somewhere? (The flight logs are there I confirm)
    Many thanks !
    Gill
     
  2. Web

    Webrat New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got the Q500 4k about two weeks ago and went to put the micro SD card that came with the camera into the controller and to my surprise there was one already in there. Good video on the how to install it, thank you Nettle Creek.

    And thanks for the link to http://www.dashware.net
    That looks like a cool program, will look into it.
     
  3. Don

    DonC New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello, I recently purchased a Chroma with the 1080 camera - really had no idea about the difference between the two models so I got what was available that day. Anyway, I've been following this post closely and the idea of being able to combine the video file with the data file created in the transmitter sounds intriguing. This morning I installed a formatted mini SD card in the transmitter and made a short flight. I removed the card and put it in the computer only to find there were no files other than a couple of photos I took the other day. I'm fairly certain the card was inserted correctly. Is there a "switch" that needs to be turned on for the Chroma transmitter to record data?
    I've downloaded "Dashware" and when it asked for the data file is when I discovered I didn't have on the card.
    I also have a question about updating the firmware and probably should start a new discussion, but quickly, given the problems with the Chroma GUI and Windows 10, is one of the problems that I won't be able to connect the Chroma to the computer because it can't connect through a Comm port? That's what it tells me, can't connect on Com4.
    Thank you for any input - this is all new to me. Fascinating, but also a little frustrating.
    Don
     
  4. Jagerbomb52

    Jagerbomb52 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Messages:
    4,581
    Likes Received:
    1,695
    Location:
    Kakabeka Falls Ontario Canada
    Hey Don, I can't answer your question about the Chroma GUI but the SD card problem you are having sounds like it is not in the right spot. There is no switch to turn on so thats not your problem. There is a little piece that sticks out and it should fit into the side slot. Also format the card and use a fresh formatted card.
    When installed the right way you should not see any of the leads at the top of the card.
    20150810_180126.jpg
     
  5. Don

    DonC New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you, you're absolutely correct. I installed it correctly and it recorded data exactly as it is supposed to. I noticed it also recorded what appears to be a video file but I haven't downloaded a program capable of opening yet.
     
  6. Jagerbomb52

    Jagerbomb52 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Messages:
    4,581
    Likes Received:
    1,695
    Location:
    Kakabeka Falls Ontario Canada
    Glad you got it working.
    Download this player and it will play those low res videos.
    https://mpc-hc.org/
     
  7. Mike_Flys

    Mike_Flys New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    United States
    Dashware seems very cool. How do you over come the time column issue in your CSV file for importing?

    Thanks,
    Mike
     
  8. Pau

    PaulP New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  9. h-elsner

    h-elsner Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2016
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Germany, Bavaria
    ^pomen_GTR^ and PaulP like this.
  10. Pau

    PaulP New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello HE,

    I tried the software yesterday, it works great. I observed my altitude and distance on the controller and compared to the spreadsheet, It's very accurate. Thanks for sharing this tool! The user manual is also very good.
     
  11. ^pomen_GTR^

    ^pomen_GTR^ Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2015
    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Malaysia

    downloading...thanks!
     
  12. h-elsner

    h-elsner Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2016
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Germany, Bavaria
    Thanks. Good to get feedback. There is now also a possibility to convert data to gpx format. This can be used for many map services. One of them is http://www.doarama.com/info - quite nice.

    br HE
     
    ^pomen_GTR^ likes this.
  13. h-elsner

    h-elsner Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2016
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Germany, Bavaria
    ^pomen_GTR^ likes this.
  14. h-elsner

    h-elsner Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2016
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Germany, Bavaria
    Support of old firmware has destroyed the support of new firmware data format. Bad testing... But now it is fixed and both data structures working well. You can drop the "FlightLog" directory on the programm window to select it for evaluation.

    br HE
     
  15. h-elsner

    h-elsner Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2016
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Germany, Bavaria
  16. REB

    REB Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2016
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    South East Georgia
    Great info in your video. Thanks for sharing it.
    Should the new 4K disk for the camera also be formatted to fat32 before use?
    Thanks,
    Roy
     
  17. REB

    REB Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2016
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    South East Georgia
    This tells me video does not exist. (?)
     
  18. REB

    REB Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2016
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    South East Georgia
    I guess the post do not get a response very often?
     
  19. REB

    REB Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2016
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    South East Georgia
    I guess this is not the place to ask but being new to the site where else do I ask?
    After joining the forum, why is it each time I post something I need to wait for a moderator to approve it before it's able to be seen by others? Probation period for new people? Just curious, I don't have that in other forums.
    Thanks,
    Roy
     
  20. SKE

    SKETCHY Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2016
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    11
    H-elsner is this the same for my Chroma 4k ?I need to learn how to do this in case of a flyaway correct ?
     
Loading...

Share This Page

Loading...